Glory clouds, gold dust and feathers, oh my…

I’m trying to have an open mind. But the more I hear and read about the Bethel Church in Redding, CA, the more concerned I become.  I watched several videos and have posted links to them below.

And in part  of it, you can see what Bill Johnson calls a “glory cloud”. All I could see was this blackish/gray smoke like stuff that seemed  to be coming from a ceiling duct. But it made me very uncomfortable and not in  a good way, not in a way that made me think anyone was in the presence of the Lord. They might have been in a presence but for me, it was not my God, my King, my Father.

1 Timothy 4:1-2
1Now the Spirit speaketh expressly, that in the latter times some shall depart from the faith, giving heed to seducing spirits, and doctrines of devils; 2Speaking lies in hypocrisy; having their conscience seared with a hot iron;

2 Timothy 4:3-4
3For the time will come when they will not endure sound doctrine; but after their own lusts shall they heap to themselves teachers, having itching ears; 4And they shall turn away their ears from the truth, and shall be turned unto fables.

So, how are we to arm ourselves to know when and what we’re hearing is true or false? The Holy Spirit! Have a relationship with your heavenly Father and be filled with the Holy Spirit. Put on the Armor of God and never take it off.

Learn HIS voice and listen. Question what you hear from man (preacher, prophet, apostle, etc-these are all men and it’s okay to question them, don’t confront but question, respectfully.) When they are backing up their point with scripture, research that scripture for yourself. Ask your Father for discernment and clarity as to what it means for you. And remember that while He uses man to spread the Good News (there will be those who say they come in His name). And, maybe they do have His anointing, but you are not to blindly and unconditionally follow, like sheep, the one who leads over your place of worship. Hear what they say, pray, and do your own research. Make sure that what they are saying matches up with the Word of God.

Don’t be lead astray. There is so much more I could say about what I’m hearing about Bethel but that will have to wait for another time.

I welcome questions and comments. Are you a follower of the Bethel teaching or others like it? If so, what lead you and keeps you there?

http://www.honorofkings.org/bethel-church-harmful/

Leave a comment